America The Great Tasting

So, for starters I am not American nor do I live in America. However, on my travels I have been in those United States a few times. The US- like all countries -has both good points (stunning wilderness, some of the inhabitants) and bad (propensity to elect clowns, some of the inhabitants) but overall has much to offer the world.

I tell you this because I have one burning question: With the dominance of American culture over the world, why the hell does nowhere else have peanut butter candy?

Seriously, the US candy line up is mostly chocolate that tastes like rotten milk and unbelievably sour or completely bland gummy things. Peanut butter chocolates are the shining stars that don’t belong in that garbage heap.

And yet, overseas, you can get the same brands (albeit usually made locally and to better recipes) but not the PB variations. My local supermarket carries M&Ms, for example. You can get them in milk, dark and for some reason pretzel, but not the best, PB.

It’s a real mystery to me. Even the M&M world in London’s Leicester Square – a giant multistory showroom of small chocolate orbs – doesn’t carry Peanut Butter. I’ve got friends who adore the place but it’s useless to me.

It’s my hope the world wisens up soon and starts copying the only good US candy. Ideally, the world would do this very very soon indeed because my last bag of PB M&Ms is down to the last 20 or so, and I’m not going to be able to get more for 2 months. If they don’t, well I’ll just have to go back to buying regular blocks of chocolate and dipping it in peanut butter myself, like a caveman.

Leave a Reply

