Car Tuning

I consider myself lucky to not have to drive regularly. Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not one of those people who hate driving; some of my fondest memories are roadtrips. But at the same time I live in a city and there’s nothing fun about city driving.

For those occasions when I am driving, like approximately everyone else in the world I like to have the radio on and for me, there’s only one radio station: the local pop nostalgia station. Yes, nothing beats sitting at a red light while pop hits from the 80s, 90s and 00s play interrupted occasionally by adverts that make it very clear the target audience is middle-aged housewives (not a demographic I fit into).

I’ve thought about that and I really do have solid reasons for this choice:

  1. I find most DJs insufferable but there’s only one real DJ on for a few hours and she actually isn’t that bad. The rest of the time, it’s a roboDJ who doesn’t say anything.
  2. Relatively, there’s not a lot of adverts. Ads are even worse than DJs in the “annoying me” stakes especially with a limited pool so you hear the same ones over and over again. That’s what drove me away from the classic rock station, which also had DJs I could stand; I just got sick of hearing the same ad for boner pills every 15 minutes.
  3. Finally, I like the music selection. “Pop hits from the last few decades” is a decently broad range of stuff and unlike contemporary Top 40 radio, a lot of the crap from those eras has been filtered out by time

 

Maybe you think those are shallow justifications and that I should be exposing myself to new culture instead of living in the past. That’s fair, but there’s an important part of car music I haven’t mentioned yet. As one of the station jingles puts it, Here’s a station where you know all the words.

Solo car karaoke, oh yeah.

Leave a Reply

