Modding Civ #1

It’s new project time here at the blog! Yes, I’m starting something big and I’m going to document the interesting bits right here…on the Internet.

As you may have guessed from the title up there, that project is something that’s been on my to do list for a while. I’m good at playing video games, I’ve taken a few “intro to programming” courses and I’ve installed a few mods in my time. The obvious next step is to modify videogames myself.

So, what’s the specific goal here?

In my view, a good mod is something that achieves one of the following.

  • Changes a game system for the better
  • Adds extra content for players to enjoy
  • Improves the look of the game

These can take a variety of forms, but I reckon that’s the basic 3 principles. There is approximately zero chance I’m going to come up with anything good right away. As a complete beginner, my goal for this first week (I plan to have a modpost on the blog every friday) is simple:


GOALS FOR WEEK 1

  • Change something -anything -about Civilization V and have it show up in-game.

Not a high bar, but I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew here. I’ve chosen CiV as the game to mod for two reasons. First is that it uses Python which is one of the coding languages I’ve taken a course in and second is because it’s quite an old game with a mature modding scene. As it’s been around for several years, people have already figured out how to do the basic stuff and- more importantly for me- there’s a lot of guides out there I can refer to.

A fairly high proportion of mods for CiV are additional civilizations, so that’s going to be the area I focus on. I figure an easy place to start is probably renaming an existing civ, so check back next week and hopefully I’ll have screenshots of Dongs Washington leading the Wangmerican Empire!

 

… I did say it wasn’t going to be good.

2 thoughts on “Modding Civ #1

  1. Pingback: Modding Civ #2 – Memoirs Of A Crime Bird

  2. Pingback: Modding Civ #3 – Memoirs Of A Crime Bird

Leave a Reply

