Desert Island MP3s #10

Part of the wildly popular DIMP3s series


#10

Dan Hartman – Relight My Fire

I reserve this song – and others like it – for a certain activity. For a change, that’s not “driving”. It probably would work well for that if there was a local radio station that played disco though…

As is required for Desert Island MP3s, this particular example of the musical excesses of the late 70s is something I’ve been listening to a lot recently. In fact, I found a good playlist of late 70s/ early 80s disco that has, for now, replaced synthwave compilations as my tunes of choice for cooking.

I am a firm believer that you need some hi-energy sounds as background when you’re getting culinary. It just makes sense to me: you need something suited to being played loud over boiling pans and that you can bounce around to during downtimes. Disco fits those criteria well, and the later stuff is more complex and satisfying to me than the simple and repetitive early disco.

I know not everyone takes this position, some like to use the time that making a good meal takes to slow down and reflect and prefer music that allows that. And don’t get me wrong, if you can make a group of people a filling and delicious meal while listening to some lyric-driven folk-inspired straight-from-the-heart indie melodies like Josh Ritter then more power to you.

Just know that I’m judging your life choices here, because it’d be much better with some funky grooves.

Leave a Reply

